top of page


The Ilizarov Award of Excellence is given by UT Health Science Center at San Antonio and honors a surgeon or researcher for outstanding achievements in the application or education of external fixation. The award is named for Russian orthopedic surgeon Dr. Gavriil Ilizarov (1921-1992) who pioneered the techniques of external fixation and transosseous synthesis. Today the Ilizarov method is used worldwide to improve the quality of life for patients and prevent limb amputations.



Alexander Cherkashin, MD
Mikhail Samchukov, MD

2019 - Tahir Ogut, MD

2017 - John J. Anderson, DPM, FACFAS

2016 - John J. Stapleton, DPM, FACFAS

2015 - Lawrence A. DiDomenico, DPM, FACFAS

2014 - Alexandru V. Georgescu, MD, PhD

2013 - Patrick R. Burns, DPM, FACFAS

2011 - Thomas S. Roukis, DPM, PhD, FACFAS

2010 - Peter A. Blume, DPM, FACFAS

2009 - Armin Koller, MD

2008 - Vasilios D. Polyzois, MD, PhD

bottom of page